SAAFA is an all-ranks Association formed to perpetuate a tradition of comradeship, knowing no distinction of rank,  race, language, gender or creed, which has developed over the years among members of the South African Air Force.
The Association is democratic, non-sectarian and non-partisan in relation to party politics.


SAAFA is fully POPIA compliant (Protection of Personal Information Act).



Appart from being a meeting place for its members SAAFA actively promotes the image of the SAAF and its members. Indeed, the two-fold activity of having fun while raising funds continues to produce excellent results over the years. Funds raised thus are distributed via the Association's Care of the Aged programme.

All persons who serve in, or once served in the SAAF (PF or CF), or in any other Allied Air Force, are eligible to join this unique fraternity.

SAAFA branches are active all over Southern Africa: Bloemfontein, Cape Town, Durban, East Rand (Benoni), Johannesburg, Kimberley, Lower South Coast (Margate), Laeveld (Hoedspruit), Namibia (Windhoek), Outeniqua (George/Knysna), Pietermaritzburg, Port Alfred, Port Elizabeth, Pretoria, Stilfontein, Soutpansberg (Machado/Louis Trichardt) and WEST COAST (Langebaan/Vredenburg). The SA Korean War Veterans Association also has branch status with the SAAFA.

Membership brings participation in many activities, enjoying life wining and dining, raffles, sport events, special outings, regular luncheons at which distinguished persons from industry and commerce address the gathering and chat afterwards. How about golf, horse racing, bowls and "Fly-in-Braai" days and many more interesting events?!

Members are entitled to wear the distinctive SAAFA tie, blazer badge and other insignia, and to participate in all SAAFA activities at Branch level. They are also encouraged to participate in the on-going worthwhile projects of the Association. Less fortunate SAAFA members and their dependents are being assisted in their well being. An ever-increasing percentage of funds raised are being channeled towards the Care of the Aged programme.

A national newsletter is distributed via email regularly free-of-charge, while several branches send out their own newsletters.

Office bearers:
National President                      Trevor Slade  
National Vice President             Bill De Pinho  
Country Vice Presidents            Marthie Visser (Whale Coast Branch)                                
                                                        Steve Bekker (Durban Branch)
                                                        Derrick Page (Cape Town)       
 Honorary Treasurer                  Carol Havenga 
 National Secretary                    Marianne Mostert                                                




NEC Members

SAAF LIASON                                                                   Marthie Visser/Craig Stanton
Awards                                                                               Jaap Rossouw
Benevolence                                                                     Trevor Slade (NP)
Constitution/MoA/Records                                           Mike Louw (IPP)
Kindred Organisations                                                     Trevor Slade (NP)
Membership/Camaraderie/Newsletter                      Roelf Rossouw
Remembrance/Heritage                                                Renier Feldtmann/Bruce Harrison
National Medical Liaison                                                 Bill de Pinho (NVP)
Regalia                                                                                Marianne Mostert
Veteran Affairs                                                                   Colin Bowring
Webmaster/Social Media                                               Koos van Rensburg
Civil Aviation                                                                       Ray Ledlie



Chairman Gavin Lavis
Vice Chairman Vacant
Treasurer Ronell Opperman
Secretary Ansie Lavis
Tel:082 873 2284
Email: [email protected] 

Cape Town

Chairman Nick Havenga
Vice Chairman Kevin Sampson
Treasurer Carol Havenga
Secretary Vacant
Tel:082 876 6150
Email: [email protected] 


Chairman Rob Sinclair
Vice Chairman John Bayne
Treasurer John Boardman
Secretary Steve Bekker
Tel:083 655 6532
Email: [email protected] 

East Rand

Chairman Roelf Rossouw
Vice Chairman Dave Tayler
Treasurer Devon Cardases
Secretary Marjorie Malan
Tel:073 186 7761
Email: [email protected] 


Chairman Carl Bollweg
Vice Chairman Bruce Harrison
Treasurer Martin Urry
Secretary Jeff Earle
Tel:011 616 7406
Email: [email protected] 


Chairman Christo du Toit
Vice Chairman Dave Alexander
Treasurer Jacques de Lange
Secretary Linda du Toit
Tel:072 490 0710
Email: [email protected] 

Lower South Coast

Chairman Johnny Ralph
Vice Chairman Carl Volker
Treasurer Victor Liebenberg
Secretary Phyllis Ralph
Tel:082 568 8644
Email: [email protected] 


Chairman Andre Nortje
Vice Chairman Toffa Hattingh
Treasurer Lientjie Langenhoven
Secretary Catryn le Roux
Tel:015 799 2247
Email: [email protected] 

Namibia (Dormant)

Chairman Vacant
Vice Chairman Vacant
Treasurer Vacant
Secretary Vacant


Chairman Marius van Wyk
Vice Chairman Stephan Jansen van Vuuren
Treasurer Stephan Jansen van Vuuren
Secretary Stephan Jansen Van Vuuren
Tel:+27 83 271 0204
Email: [email protected] 


Chairman Morgan Holmes
Vice Chairman Winks Stening
Treasurer Vacant
Secretary Vacant
Tel:033 396 2118
Email: [email protected] 

Port Alfred

Chairman Koos Janse van Rensburg
Vice Chairman Anton Knoetze
Treasurer Acting: John Wesley
Secretary Vacant
Tel:084 545 5502
Email: [email protected] 

Port Elizabeth

Chairman Trevor Bernberg
Vice Chairman Woody Turner
Treasurer Paul Hoogendoorn
Secretary James Canepa
Tel:082 893 2255
Email: [email protected] 


Chairman Bill de Pinho
Vice Chairman Phillip Gouws
Treasurer Carol Havenga
Secretary Jaap Rossouw
Tel:012 651 5922
Email: [email protected] 

Soutpansberg (Dormant)

Chairman Vacant
Vice Chairman Vacant
Treasurer Vacant
Secretary Vacant
Tel:015 577 2215
Email: [email protected] 


Chairman Arthur Keefe
Vice Chairman Nico Nysschen
Treasurer Angie Bate
Secretary Angie Bate
Tel:(018) 478-9761
Email: [email protected] 

West Coast

Chairman Dirk Blom
Vice Chairman Andy Ranger
Treasurer Andrè Steenkamp
Secretary Gerda Tallie
Tel:082 349 4822
Email: [email protected] 

Whale Coast

Chairman Marthie Visser
Vice Chairman Johan Pentz
Treasurer André Pentz
Secretary Johan Pentz
Tel:079 528 6499
Email: [email protected] 

Patrons of SAAFA

Lt Genl A.M. Muller, SSAS, SD, SM, SALM (Retired)
Lt Genl W.H. Hechter, SSAS, SD, SM, MMM, SALM (Retired)
Lt Genl R.J. Beukes, SD, SM, MMM, SALM (Retired)
Mr B. Hersov, DMS
Lt Genl C. Gagiano, SM, SAAF (Retired).
Lt Gen F Z Msimang psc (j), ensp (Retired)
Lt Gen W.S. Mbambo, psc (j), ensp

Upcoming Events


APRIL - RAF Memorial Service, Bays Hill, April
APRIL - Gunner's Association Service, Potchefstroom
MAY - SAAF Museum Air Show, Swartkop
MAY - SA Air Force Memorial Service, Bays Hill, Pretoria. 10h00
MAY - Smuts Memorial Service, Irene, Pretoria. 15h00
MAY - Heritage Foundation Wreath Laying Ceremony, SADF Wall of Remembrance, Voortrekker Monument.
DECEMBER - The Victory Cup Golf Day, Royal Port Alfred Golf Club
JUNE - SAPPERS Memorial Service
SSA Korean War Veterans Memorial Service, Air Force Memorial, Bays Hill, Pretoria

Medical Info

Regular Force Medical Continuation Fund Booklet
Travel Claim Form
Personal Information Update Form

Please contact your Branch Committee to resolve any queries/uncertainties


This form will be delivered to our webmaster whom will forward it to the relevant branch/person.

SAAFA 75 & Regalia/h3>

Please contact our secretary at Head Office to get the latest prices for SAAFA Regalia on offer to members (Tel: 012 651 5921 or 012 351 2116 Email: [email protected])