The SOUTH AFRICAN AIR FORCE ASSOCIATION is an all-ranks meeting place, founded in 1945. This eminently worthy cause not only recreates in a light-hearted atmosphere, the togetherness of its aviation-minded members but also enjoins them to share responsibility for the needs of less fortunate ex-SAAF members and their spouses.


Apart from being a meeting place for its members SAAFA actively promotes the image of the SAAF and its members. Indeed, the two-fold activity of having fun while raising funds continues to produce excellent results over the years. Funds raised thus are distributed via the Association's Care of the Aged programme.

All persons who serve in, or once served in the SAAF (PF or CF), or in any other Allied Air Force, are eligible to join this unique fraternity.

SAAFA branches are active all over Southern Africa: Bloemfontein, Cape Town, Durban, East Rand (Benoni), Johannesburg, Kimberley, Lower South Coast (Margate), Laeveld (Hoedspruit), Namibia (Windhoek), Outeniqua (George/Knysna), Pietermaritzburg, Port Alfred, Port Elizabeth, Pretoria, Stilfontein, Soutpansberg (Machado/Louis Trichardt) and Weskus (Langebaan/Vredenburg). The SA Korean War Veterans Association also has branch status with the SAAFA.

Membership brings participation in many activities, enjoying life wining and dining, raffles, sport events, special outings, regular luncheons at which distinguished persons from industry and commerce address the gathering and chat afterwards. How about golf, horse racing, bowls and "Fly-in-Braai" days and many more interesting events?!

Members are entitled to wear the distinctive SAAFA tie, blazer badge and other insignia, and to participate in all SAAFA activities at Branch level. They are also encouraged to participate in the on-going worthwhile projects of the Association. Less fortunate SAAFA members and their dependents are being assisted in their well being. An ever-increasing percentage of funds raised are being channeled towards the Care of the Aged programme.

A national newsletter is distributed via email regularly free-of-charge, while several branches send out their own newsletters.

National Executive

Office bearers:
National President                      Hugh Paine
National Vice President             Mike Louw
Country Vice Presidents            B Hauptfleisch (Weskus)    
                                                      A de Klerk (Pietermaritzburg)    
                                                      W J Vandermeulen (Port Alfred)    
                                                      D Badenhorst (Cape Town)
Honorary Treasurer                   Jeff Earle
National Secretary                     Samantha Geddes

NEC Members

SAAF/SAAFA Liaison                 Philip Weyers
Investment Manager                 Jeff Earle
Benevolence                              Trevor Slade
Strategic Planning                      Hugh Paine
Constitution & Archives             Dave Jackson
Membership                               Bob Thorsen
National Medical Liaison           Mike Louw
Awards                                        Jaap Rossouw
Public Relations                         Philip Weyers
Fund Raising                              Chris Boshoff
Remembrance/Heritage         Renier Feldtmann
Events                                         Chris Boshoff
Webmaster                                Koos van Rensburg.


 Chairman Gavin Lavis
Vice Chairman Valerie Nell
Treasurer Ronelle Opperman
Secretary Ronelle Opperman
Tel: 083 300 7248
Meetings: 1st Thursday after the 15th of the month at 17h00

Cape Town

Chairman Kevin Sampson
Vice Chairman John Bayley Brown
Treasurer Daan Badenhorst
Secretary Julia Thomas
Tel: (021) 508-6138
Meetings 2 nd Tuesday of the month at 10h00 - Luncheons: 2 nd Tuesday of the month at 12hOO


Chairman Steve Bekker
Vice Chairman Gavin Farquhar
Treasurer John Boardman
Secretary Linda Bekker
 Tel: 031 904 3644
Meetings: Cyber committee with Adhoc meetings - Luncheons: 1st Friday of the month 12h00 for 13h00

East Rand

Chairman Dave Tayler
Vice Chairman Chris Boshoff
Treasurer Mac McCloskey
Secretary Marjory Malan
Tel: (011) 849-2751
Meetings: 2 nd Saturday of the month at 09h00 - Luncheons: 3 rd Friday of the month at 12h00


Chairman Jeff Earl
Vice Chairman Bob Thorsen
Treasureran Vacant
Secretary Carol van Rensburg
Tel: 011 616 7406
Meetings: 2 nd Wednesday of the month at 17h30 - Luncheons: Last Friday of the month at 13h00


 Chairman Laurens Goudriaan
Vice Chairman Charles Human
Treasurer Graham Smith
Secretary William Smith
 Tel: (053) 838-7411

Lower South Coast

Chairman John Ralph
Vice Chairman Carl Volker
Treasurer Victor Liebenberg
Secretary Phyllis Ralph
Cell: 082 855 4708 
Luncheons and various outings


 Chairman Hugh le Roux
Vice Chairman Gys van Staden
Treasurer Lientjie Langenhoven
Secretary Catryn le Roux
 Tel: 015 799 2247
Meetings: Last Friday of the month at 13h00 - Luncheons: Last Friday of the month at 13h00 onwards


Chairman Ehrol Lohmann
Vice Chairman Vacant
Treasurer Vacant
Secretary Vacant
Tel: 081 124 5411


 Chairman Ola Grinaker
Vice Chairman Vacant
Treasurer Carol McCreedy.
Secretary Carol McCreedy.
 Tel: (044) 871-3159
Meetings: Adhoc - Luncheons: 3 rd Friday of the month at 12h30 for 13h00


 Chairman Morgan Holmes
Vice Chairman Winks Stening
Treasurer Arrie de Klerk
Secretary Arrie de Klerk
Tel: 033 239-5671
Meetings: 4th Tuesday of the month at 11h00 - Luncheon: 4th Tuesday of month at 12h00 for 13h00

Port Alfred

 Chairman Hugh Holmes
Vice Chairman Wally Vandermeulen
Treasurer Lyn Lapham
Secretary Gordon Goff
Tel: 046 624-4323
Meetings: 1st Monday of the month at 10h00 - Luncheons: 1ST Monday of the month at 12h00 for 12h30

Port Elizabeth

 Chairman Colin Trader
Vice Chairman Bernie Sharp
Treasurer Vacant
Secretary Peter Aston
 Tel/Fax: 041 374 5014
Meetings: Last Thursday of the month at 10h30 - Luncheons: Last Thursday Bi-monthly at 12h30 for 13hOO


 Chairman Mike Louw
Vice Chairman Dave Jackson
Treasurer Carol Havenga
Secretary Jaap Rossouw
Tel: 012 651 5922
Meetings: 1st Monday of the month at 17h00 - Luncheons: 2 nd Friday of the month at 12h00 for 13h00


Chairman Francois van Zyl
Vice Chairman Eddie Rieger
Treasurer Gerhard Schoeman
Secretary Gerhard Schoeman
Tel: 015 577 2215
Meetings: 1st Friday of the month after the 15th of the month - Luncheons: Directly after the meeting


Chairman Arthur Keefe
Vice Chairman Nico Nysschen
Treasurer Angie Bate
Secretary Angie Bate
 Tel: 071 335 1082
Meetings: 2 nd Thursday of the month at 18h00 - Luncheon: Last Sunday of the month at 13hOO

West Coast

Chairman Rob Sproul
Vice Chairman Renee Smith
Treasurer Marian Strydom
Secretary Kevin Kilroy
 Tel : 022 772 1605
Meetings: 1st Wednesday of the month

National Office

National President Hugh Paine
National Vice President Mike Louw
National Secretary Samantha Geddes
Tel: 012 651 5921 or 012 351 2116
Meetings 2nd Tuesday of every month

Patrons of SAAFA

Lt Genl A.M. Muller, SSAS, SD, SM, SALM (Retired)
Lt Gen D.J. Earp, SSA, SD, SOE, SM, SAAF (Retired)
Lt Genl J.P.B. van Loggerenberg, SSA, SD, SM, MMM, SALM (Retired)
Lt Genl W.H. Hechter, SSAS, SD, SM, MMM, SALM (Retired)
Lt Genl R.J. Beukes, SD, SM, MMM, SALM (Retired)
Mr B. Hersov
Lt Genl C. Gagiano, SM, SAAF (Retired).

Fund Raising Events

Johannesburg Golf Day, September, Woodmead Golf Club, Carol van Rensburg,
Pretoria Oktober Bierfest, October, Die Bosvelder, Nick Havenga, 082 876 6150
Pretoria Annual Golf Day, October, Services Golf Club, Nick Havenga, 082 876 6150

Branches are welcome to forward their event information to the
webmaster whom will gladly add them to this page.

Medical Info

Regular Force Medical Continuation Fund Booklet
Travel Claim Form
Personal Information Update Form

Please contact your Branch Committee to resolve any queries/uncertainties


This form will be delivered to our webmaster whom will forward it to the relevant branch/person.